Announcing ShareFile Super User Group
In an effort to make folder administration easier in your ShareFile account, we have developed a new feature called Super User Group.
What is the Super User Group feature?
The Super User Group feature is an administrative function designed to make folder administration easy to manage. The Super User Group will contain employee users of your ShareFile account who need to have administrative access on all folders. The members of the Super User Group will have upload, download, delete, and admin permissions on all folders. The Super User Group cannot be removed nor have their permissions changed from the folder access section.
How do I use the Super User Group feature?
To add an employee user to the group, you will click the “Admin” link in the top navigation bar and “Edit Super User Group” on the right sidebar. You will then see two options: “Quick Add Member” and “Add From.” By selecting “Add From -> Employee List”, you will be able to select the check box to the left of each employee user who should be part of the Super User Group. Then click “Add Selected Users” and “Save Changes.”
What does this mean for me?
Your ShareFile account currently allows individual employee users to be added to all newly created folders. This user setting is listed under “Admin Privileges” for employee users. When selected, the employee user has administrative permissions on every new folder regardless of who created it. After the update on June 3rd, this check box no longer appears and administration of Super Users will be managed via the “Edit Super User Group” link in the “Admin” section of your account.
It is important to note that any user who currently has the setting “Grant this user access to all newly created folders” will be automatically added to the Super User Group. Any additional users will need to be manually added to the Super User Group.
Please feel free to reach out to your dedicated Account Manager or support with any other questions. Also, we encourage you to visit the ShareFile Knowledge Base to learn more about this feature.